The last couple of days have been such a rollercoaster of emotions for a lot of us as AWFC, AFC and just football fans as a whole. Not only were there insane matches in the Premier League but also the WSL had fantastic matches. Add to this Feyenoord vs Ajax which was an INCREDIBLE match and another unreal game was the Madrid derby. Let’s not chat about that final that our men and our manager took part in…. what also hurts to talk about is Australia losing the final of the women’s asian cup.
I feel so bad for Steph Catley and Foord. Steph’s post match conference was a tear jerker and I honestly felt it was so cruel that they didn’t win but as we all know, in football like in life it’s not what we deserve but about what actually happens. Hats off to Japan. I really enjoy watching The Matildas and I wish the football goddess would’ve rewarded them one way or another but I think the love their nation has shown them could be considered a massive victory.
On the other side of the spectrum we saw AWFC absolutely batter West Ham, scoring 5 goals in said match. I didn’t watch it live but I did rewatch it last night… without a doubt the highlight for me was watching Beth play as a 10 which is something I’ve been crying out for YEARS.
Beyond happy to also have seen Chelsea drop points against LCL too so in that sense we can all be full of joy. And, speaking of Chelsea, we all know we play them in a couple of days for the CL quarter finals. They have a great squad and a great manager but they’ve been the total polar opposite of where they were last season or in seasons prior. Yes I know it’s not literally the polar opposite but you know what I mean.
I hope I have time to write tomorrow a bit of a preview but you should be able to watch me on The Highbury Squad’s YouTube show at 7pm UK, I think, when we will be chatting with Suzy Wrack, who has more knowledge about football in one strand of hair than I have n 40 lifetimes.
Apparently there won’t be our first choice duo at CB which worries me a lot. Not having Steph and Leah vs Kaneryd, ABJ, LJ and co is giving me so much anxiety. I will be an absolute ball of nerves and depending on that backline I will either be extremely confident or not. The thought of facing Chelsea without our best XI is not the worst thing because I will always have hope in our squad, but the CB pairing is the most key partnership the pitch, specially in CL knockout match. That sounded so obvious…. sorry.
Not ready to make any predictions to be fair. Sorry x2
❤
d
Leave a comment